An introduction to lace

Image

This is my first attempt knitting a lace pattern.  It wasn’t as scary as I expected it to be.  To make it easier, I made this first try at lace with a pattern that used a pretty bulky yarn.  The pattern is the Storm Fir Shawl.  I used Peruvia Quick.  I love how the yarn felt after blocking.  It always seemed like an overbearingly fat yarn whenever I felt it in the store.   Blocking made it soft and more lightweight.  I will use it again.

Image

I used so many pins to block this!  This pattern is really stunning.  And it’s amazing to see this crumpled ball of yarn stretch into a beautiful pattern and shape.  Here it is from the back.

Image

The shawl is a gift for my Aunt.  She really liked it.  I did make one mistake in the middle increase column (I’m sure there is a technical name for that). I saw the error as I was knitting.  I tried to correct it, but was unable to figure out what I did wrong.  I’ve since made another for my grandmother with no problem.   I’m definitely a fan of the Storm Fir Shawl!

Leave a Reply

