a hat for an old friend

In November, I told my friend Cary that I would knit him a hat.  He said he needed to buy one and I insisted “No!  I’ll make you one.” Then it took me 2 months to fulfill the promise!  There were so many holiday gifts to finish.  Plus, the first hat I made was too small (my fault for not reading ravelry notes).  So, I actually made him 2 hats.  The first one went to my son.  Here is the finished product:

caryhat2Caryhat3

 

I used Berroco Ultra Alpaca (50% wool and 50% alpaca) and this tutorial.  It’s pretty straightforward.  Someone who is experienced with hats wouldn’t need a pattern for this.  I’m new to hats.  And my first one was a bit of a failure, so this simple pattern was much appreciated!

Leave a Reply

